Frequently Asked Questions

What are the requirements to get the Concealed Carry Permit in Illinois?

To obtain the permit you must be 21, have a valid FOID (exceptions for nonresidents), not been convicted of certain crimes (if in doubt: see section 25 of the law HERE) and have completed the required training (our course). You MAY take the course before you turn 21 or obtain your FOID. 

Are you sure this class will be accepted by the State of Illinois?

Yes, our instructors and our courses are approved by the State of Illinois.

Should I take the 8-hour or 16-hour course?

If you have previously taken an NRA Personal Protection Course, NRA Basic Pistol Course, or are prior or active military you only need to take our 8-hour course. This is assuming you have the certificate from that previous course or for military: your DD-214. If you do not have or can not find that certificate, you will need the 16-hour course. If you have not taken one of the courses aforementioned courses or are not military, then you must take our 16-hour course to qualify. The majority of students will need the 16-hour course. You may also see our ABOUT THE CLASS section for more info.

What are the prices and what is included?

Prices are $198.99 for the 16 hour-course and $99.99 for the 8-hour course. Upon your range qualification, you will be required to pay a $20 range fee which is cash only. Range targets, Classroom and range instruction as well as all course materials are included. Upon successful completion, your official Concealed Carry Certificate which may be used toward permits in IL, FL and AZ is also included.

What do I need to bring?

To the classroom portion you must bring: payment (if you have not pre-paid), handgun and holster (optional), drivers license or state id, and a pen. For the 16-hour course, you may also bring a lunch on Day 1 and a lunch or snack on Day 2. For the 8-hour course you must also bring a PHOTOCOPY of your DD-214 or prior training certificate. You may bring lunch or a snack as well. There is a one hour break between class time and range time on Day 2. To the range qualification you must bring: drivers license or state id, firearm and holster (may also be rented at range but if you have them you should bring them), 50 rounds of ammunition (may also be purchased at the range), and $20 range fee – cash only. Please make sure firearms are unloaded. No ammo is allowed in the classroom period!

Do I have to be 21 to take the class?

No, you must be at least 18 to take the class. Get it done before your 21st birthday!

Will the class go over the process for obtaining my Illinois Concealed Carry Permit?

Yes, the class will go over the application process in great detail. You will leave knowing exactly what you need to do/send in to obtain your permit

How can I pay?

We accept cash, credit and debit. To register, you must submit a valid credit or debit card. You may prepay with this card. If you prefer to pay cash, you still must submit a valid credit or debit card when registering to hold your spot (Simply click authorize when registering). You may then pay cash upon arrival. Please also see our CANCELLATION POLICY.

How long do the classes last?

Please see our ABOUT THE CLASS section

How difficult is it to pass the course and range qualification?

Passing the classroom portion simply relies on you paying attention and handling the firearms in a safe manner. For range qualification, as required by Illinois law you must shoot with at least 70% accuracy on 30 rounds; 10 rounds from 5 yards, 10 rounds from 7 yards and 10 rounds from 10 yards (at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the State). Our instructors are excellent at helping students at the range and the majority of our students have no trouble passing the course the first time. However, if you do not pass you will not have to retake the course, instead the instructor will work with you on scheduling a reshoot.

What is your cancellation policy and policy on refunds?

Please see CANCELLATION POLICY, REFUND POLICY

What if I have more questions?

Questions about the Permit, please contact the Illinois State Police HERE. Questions about our course, please contact us HERE.

Do I need my own gun for the class?

No, firearms may be rented at the range if you do not have your own. If you do have your own firearm, we recommend bringing it. Please make sure it is UNLOADED. No ammunition is allowed in the classroom!

Do you guys assist with or provide fingerprints, photos, application, etc?

Yes, We have an Illinois-State Licensed Livescan fingerprint vendor that comes out to all of our courses. He offers students fingerprints at a HIGHLY DISCOUNTED rate of $50! He also does the photographs to pin to the fingerprints file at no extra charge. The application process for the permit is gone over during the course. If anybody has any difficulty with the application after the course, our chief instructor will provide assistance for you! We are one of the only companies to offer this additional assistance!

What do I need to take the course?

The way our course is structured the only thing required to take it is a valid drivers license or state ID (does not have to be Illinois). To register you must provide a valid credit or debit card.

How do I get a Concealed Carry License in Illinois?

Generally, there are a few things that need to be done to get your Concealed Carry License in Illinois. You must take a state-approved training course, have your fingerprints done, photograph taken and submit an application. The course is genereally the first step and we assist with the rest. At the conclusion of our course, we have an IL state-approved finerprinting vendor come out to do the fingerpints and photographs for the fingerprints. We also assist with the application. We don't rush you in and out and leave you confused like some of the other guys, we are here to make sure you have no trouble with applying for your license! Our reputation speaks for itself!

What about carrying in other states?

Due to the way we structure our course and the unique qualifications of our instructors; our Illinois Concealed Carry Course qualifies for the permit to carry in many states! This includes Illinois, Florida, Arizona, and many others. With our one course you may apply for many other permits. For example, many people will take our course and use the course certificate to apply for both the Illinois and Florida permits. By obtaining both of these permits, you may concealed carry in 32 different states (including all of the states that touch Illinois)!